KASAP Director earns national honor for Kentucky sexual violence plan | National Sexual Violence Resource Center (NSVRC) Skip to main content
Get Help Escape
English Spanish

KASAP Director earns national honor for Kentucky sexual violence plan


Tracy Cox, Communications Director
National Sexual Violence Resource Center (NSVRC)


ENOLA, Pa. – The National Sexual Violence Resource Center (NSVRC) and the Association for the Treatment of Sexual Abusers (ATSA) will present Eileen Recktenwald with the fifth annual Gail Burns-Smith Award, during Thursday morning’s session at National Sexual Assault Conference in Pittsburgh from Aug. 20-22.

The award, jointly sponsored by ATSA and the NSVRC, is named in honor of Gail Burns-Smith, who devoted her life to strengthening the partnership between victim advocates and those working in the area of sex offender management and treatment – both groups committed to the same goal of preventing sexual violence.

Recktenwald is the Executive Director of the Kentucky Association of Sexual Assault Programs Inc. (KASAP), based in Frankfort, Ky. Under Recktenwald’s guidance, Kentucky established the State Prevention Team that created a statewide sexual violence plan. When the Prison Rape Elimination Act passed in Kentucky, Eileen
served on committees, testified in front of legislators, provided extensive trainings on sexual assault in prisons, and convinced 13 of the state’s rape crisis centers that working with inmates who have been victimized — many of whom also were convicted sex offenders — was important.

“Eileen Recktenwald is a remarkable leader and, similar to Gail Burns-Smith, she develops effective partnerships, takes risks, and makes important changes happen in communities throughout Kentucky and beyond,” NSVRC Director Karen Baker said.

“It is becoming more common for sex offender treatment professionals and victim advocates to work together on issues of safety, healing, and prevention. When we highlight the work of leaders in this area, such as Eileen Recktenwald, it inspires others to explore new partnerships, which is the ultimate goal of this award,” ATSA
Executive Director Maia Christopher said.

ATSA is an international, multidisciplinary organization dedicated to preventing sexual abuse. For more information on the treatment and management of individuals who have sexually abused or are at risk to abuse, visit www.atsa.com and www.twitter.com/MakeSocietySafe. Founded by the Pennsylvania Coalition Against Rape in 2000 with funding from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the NSVRC creates and disseminates resources to assist advocates, allies, and journalists working across the globe to address and prevent all forms of sexual violence. For more, visit www.nsvrc.org, www.facebook.com/nsvrc and www.twitter.com/nsvrc.