Skip to main content
Get Help Escape

False Reports of Sexual Assault: Moving Beyond the Issues

Event Start
Event End
This is an online event
Yes
Sponsoring Agency
End Violence Against Women International
Description

False Reports of Sexual Assault: Moving Beyond the Issues

Tuesday, June 26th

90 Minutes

10:00 AM PT / 11:00 AM MT / 12:00 PM CT / 1:00 PM ET


One of the most important challenges for law enforcement training in sexual assault investigation is the idea that many - or even most - reports are false. These cases often have a number of "red flags" that raise suspicion in the minds of officers, investigators, and others, but actually represent the realistic dynamics of sexual assault.


The presenter will review differences between a false report versus a baseless report, and inconsistent statements versus lying. He will also discuss how law enforcement can unintentionally create a "false report," by creating an environment where victims recant or withdraw. This will be contrasted with real case examples of false reports he has investigated throughout his career.

Event type