Skip to main content
Get Help Escape

Share, Immerse, #ExploreResearch

This is a guest blog post from Taylor Teichman, Online Resource Specialist at NSVRC.

This summer we have the opportunity to come together, to share our expertise and immerse ourselves in research and knowledge with a series of online forum discussions. Each month, we’ll be hosting a hot topic on our xCHANGE forum with guest moderators ranging from researchers, professionals, and advocates in the field answering your questions!

June kicks off our first in the series with exploring restorative justice and cultural relevance with guest moderators Anne Seymour, National Crime Victim Advocate and Irene “Strong Oak” Lefebvre, Executive Director and co-founder of the Visioning B.E.A.R. Circle Intertribal Coalition INC.

During our one-hour live discussion on June 29th (2-3 p.m. ET/ 1-2 p.m. CT/ 12-1 p.m. MT/ 11 a.m.- noon PT) our guest moderators will take us through key components for restorative justice practices in the sexual violence movement- like the Balanced and Restorative Justice (BARJ) model, looking beyond the criminal justice system, and implementing best practices that are culturally-specific and from a community approach. You can submit your questions to Anne and Strong Oak ahead of time by writing them in the comments section below. I’ll be compiling the questions and sharing them ahead of time with our moderators so that your questions can be answered on the spot during the live discussion!

“It takes a village” is the beginning of a phrase we often hear; and one that speaks directly to the preventive future of sexual violence. Through changing our organizational culture, values, and programs to reflect a more balanced restorative approach, to justice for all.

Head on over to the xCHANGE forum to learn more about guest moderators Anne Seymour and Strong Oak and how to participate on the day of the live online discussion; and don’t forget to submit your questions below!

Log in or register to post comments

Blog comments

userpic placeholder

Ali Mailen Perrotto
Wed, 06/08/2016 - 15:39

I would love if the moderators could discuss the differences between restorative justice and transformative justice. I know some circles consider them to be the same, while others identify distinct differences. 

userpic placeholder

Taylor Teichman
Fri, 06/10/2016 - 14:54

Are there any challenges to victims and survivors engaging in restorative justice practices?  What about for convicted or adjudicated offenders and community members?

userpic placeholder

Karla Vierthaler
Fri, 06/24/2016 - 08:45

How is restorative justice being used in communities of color?

 

Is restorative justice being used before/after/during criminal justice involvement? All of the above? 

 

Are there resources availabe around best practices for using restorative justice?