Dart Awards for Excellence in Coverage of Trauma

Dart Center for Journalism and Trauma
Wednesday, January 29, 2014

The Dart Awards for Excellence in Coverage of Trauma recognize exemplary journalism about the impact of violence, crime, disaster and other traumatic events on individuals, families and communities. Entries should focus on the experience of victims and survivors as well as contribute to public understanding of trauma-related issues. The Dart Awards recognize North American newspaper, magazine, online, radio, television, video and multimedia journalism that goes beyond the ordinary in reporting on trauma. Entries may include breaking news, enterprise reporting, single stories, packages of coverage on a single event, cohesive series, local, regional or national television coverage, long-form documentary and online multimedia packages. The Dart Awards are team prizes, reflecting all of the elements that shape the entry. Entries will be judged as a total package. Dart Award-winning teams receive prizes of $5,000. Winners, honorable mentions and finalists will be announced in late April 2014. Travel and hotel expenses for winners to attend an awards ceremony at Columbia University’s Graduate School of Journalism in New York will be covered by the Dart Center.

We invite you to submit entries in the following categories:

  • Newspapers and newspaper websites
  • Magazines and magazine websites
  • Online-only news publications
  • Network and nationally distributed cable programs
  • Small, medium and major market television stations
  • Independent productions
  • Local and national radio
  • Web-based productions

Learn more about the nomination process.