National award honors 29 leaders in sexual violence prevention

Laura Palumbo, Prevention Campaign Specialist

National Sexual Violence Resource Center

(877) 739-3895, Ext. 128; email

National award honors 29 leaders in sexual violence prevention

ENOLA, Pa. — April is Sexual Assault Awareness Month (SAAM). In observance of this event, the National Sexual Violence Resource Center’s (NSVRC) annual Visionary Voice Award highlights individuals throughout the country whose prevention work is making a significant impact in their communities. The award honors a wide-range of individuals working in various professions to end sexual violence and promote safe, healthy communities. Nominees are selected by state, tribal, or territory anti-sexual violence coalitions.


NSVRC announces the 2014 Visionary Voice Award winners in partnership with the following coalitions:


  • Dorinda Edmisten, Arkansas Coalition Against Sexual Assault      
  • Nancy E. O'Malley, California Coalition Against Sexual Assault     
  • Megan Lechner, Colorado Coalition Against Sexual Assault
  • State Representative Roberta B. Willis, Connecticut Sexual Assault Crisis Services
  • Nilda Serrano, Coordinadora Paz para la Mujer  
  • Rev. Santa CanteWi Molina Marshall, DC Rape Crisis Center        
  • Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D., Guam Coalition Against Sexual Assault & Family Violence          
  • Mary E. Govert, Indiana Coalition Against Sexual Assault              
  • Thomas G. Courtney, Iowa Coalition Against Sexual Assault        
  • Mary Stolz-Newton, Kansas Coalition Against Sexual & Domestic Violence           
  • Dr. Ann L. Coker, Kentucky Association of Sexual Assault Programs, Inc.
  • Erin Rhoda, Maine Coalition Against Sexual Assault         
  • Sandra L. Pilgrim-Lewis, Michigan Coalition To End Domestic & Sexual Violence  
  • The DOVES Program, Nebraska Domestic Violence Sexual Assault Coalition         
  • Forrest Seymour, New Hampshire Coalition Against Domestic and Sexual Violence          
  • Bill Schaefer, New York State Coalition Against Sexual Assault
  • Teresa M. Matthews, Ohio Alliance to End Sexual Violence         
  • Lynn Shiner, Pennsylvania Coalition Against Rape            
  • Vickey Cornelison-Grant, South Carolina Coalition Against Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault              
  • Debbie Curtis MSN, APN, CEN, SANE-A, Tennessee Coalition to End Domestic & Sexual Violence              
  • Donna Kelly, Utah Coalition Against Sexual Assault          
  • Sammuel Sane, Virgin Islands Domestic Violence & Sexual Assault Council           
  • Sanu Y. Dieng, Virginia Sexual and Domestic Violence Action Alliance      
  • Andrea Jones, Vermont Network Against Domestic & Sexual Violence  
  • Marshall University Forensic Science Center, West Virginia Foundation for Rape Information & Services
  • Bonnie Coonen, Wisconsin Coalition Against Sexual Assault
  • Jody Sanborn, Wyoming Coalition Against Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault
  • Karen Lang, National recognition

“The impact of these individuals and programs is vital to sexual violence prevention,” said Karen Baker, NSVRC Director. “Celebrating these successes and honoring voices on a national level reminds us we can all play a role in positively changing our communities.”

To learn more about Visionary Voice Award winners, visit Founded by the Pennsylvania Coalition Against Rape in 2000, the NSVRC develops and disseminates resources regarding all aspects of sexual violence prevention and intervention.




PDF icon PDF185.48 KB
Filed under