National award honors 26 leaders in sexual violence prevention

March 28, 2013
Laura Palumbo, Prevention Campaign Specialist
877-739-3895, Ext. 128;
National Sexual Violence Resource Center (NSVRC)

National award honors 26 leaders in sexual violence prevention

ENOLA, Pa. — April is Sexual Assault Awareness Month (SAAM). In observance, the National Sexual Violence Resource Center’s (NSVRC) annual Visionary Voice Award highlights individuals throughout the country whose prevention work is making an impact in their communities. Nominees are selected by state, tribal or territorial anti-sexual violence coalitions.

NSVRC, in partnership with the following coalitions, is pleased to announce the 2013 Visionary Voice Award winners:

• David L. Williams, Arkansas Coalition Against Sexual Assault
• Linda Bowen, California Coalition Against Sexual Assault
• Crista Maestas, Colorado Coalition Against Sexual Assault
• Anne Mahoney, Connecticut Sexual Assault Crisis Services
• Denise Snyder, D.C. Rape Crisis Center
• Alicia A. G. Limtiaco, Guam Coalition Against Sexual Assault & Family Violence
• Kristina Marie Korobov, Indiana Coalition Against Sexual Assault
• Rebecca Lockwood, Jane Doe Inc. (The Massachusetts Coalition Against Sexual Assault and Domestic Violence)
• Angela Blumel, Kansas Coalition Against Sexual and Domestic Violence
• Judy Benitez, Louisiana Foundation Against Sexual Assault
• Terry Moore, Maine Coalition Against Sexual Assault
• Cordelia S. Anderson, Minnesota Coalition Against Sexual Assault
• Cari Emerson, Nebraska Domestic Violence Sexual Assault Coalition
• Jane Ann Heenan, Nevada Coalition Against Sexual Violence
• Kathleen M. Kimball, New Hampshire Coalition Against Domestic and Sexual Violence
• Mark Medoff, New Mexico Coalition of Sexual Assault Programs, Inc.
• Amanda Wingle, New York State Coalition Against Sexual Assault
• Dodie Sacia, Ohio Alliance to End Sexual Violence
• Robert Funk, Jr., Oklahoma Coalition Against Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault
• Patrick Rushton, Pennsylvania Coalition Against Rape
• Krista Heeren-Graber, South Dakota Network Against Family Violence and Sexual Assault
• Carmen Wyatt, Tennessee Coalition to End Domestic and Sexual Violence
• Gary Scheller, Utah Coalition Against Sexual Assault
• Keith E. Goslant, Vermont Network Against Domestic and Sexual Violence
• Debbie Medeiros, Washington Coalition of Sexual Assault Programs
• David W. Miller, West Virginia Foundation for Rape Information and Services

“It is an honor to celebrate these outstanding individuals who have committed themselves to sexual violence prevention. Recognizing the positive impact of this work on a national level is a great reminder that we all can make a difference,” said NSVRC Director Karen Baker. To learn more about SAAM and the Visionary Voice Award, visit

Founded by the Pennsylvania Coalition Against Rape in 2000, the NSVRC develops and disseminates resources regarding all aspects of sexual violence prevention and intervention.

PDF icon PDF94.52 KB
Filed under